Joshua T. Crain Law Blog

How to Beat Marijuana Possession Charges

From the legalization of medical marijuana to the decriminalization of recreational use, it seems like nearly every state is changing their cannabis laws. Unfortunately, Tennessee is not one of those states.

Possession of a half-ounce of marijuana or less is considered a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of up to $2,500. A $250 fine is required for all first-time convictions. A subsequent offense results in a $500 mandatory minimum fine.

The defense of an individual charged with possession of a controlled substance such as cannabis is typically difficult, but not impossible. Some defenses challenge the stated facts, evidence or testimony of the case. Other defenses focus on procedural errors.

The following are some of the most common defenses to drug possession charges:

If you have been charged with marijuana possession, it is important to understand that attempting your own defense is not wise. Instead, contact a well-qualified attorney in your jurisdiction right away.

If you have been arrested for a drug crime in Tennessee, contact our Murfreesboro criminal defense attorney at Joshua T. Crain, Attorneys at Law today.