Out of State DUI
Your Trusted Murfreesboro DUI Defense Attorney - (888) 988-5578
DUIs don’t always happen near home. Whether you were traveling on vacation
or were out of state for work, a DUI in another state can be difficult
to handle. Few things are as challenging as facing criminal charges outside
your home state. If you’ve been charged with a DUI while visiting
Tennessee, our Murfreesboro DUI defense lawyer is ready to support you.
Joshua T. Crain, Attorneys at Law is a reliable, experienced law firm that can help you face even the most
challenging DUI charges.
Don’t wait to get help. Contact our office by calling (888) 988-5578,
and learn how our Murfreesboro
DUI attorneys can help protect you.
What Will Happen if I Receive a DUI in Tennessee?
Each state has their own laws pertaining to DUIs, and you may not be familiar
with the laws in Tennessee. If you’re not from the state, you may
face the additional struggle of defending yourself from your home state,
which adds another layer of complexity to your case.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Tennessee, here’s what you
Tennessee is an implied consent state. If you are pulled over while driving
in Tennessee, it is presumed that you have automatically granted your
consent to a blood alcohol content (BAC) test. Even if you are an out
of state driver, refusing to take a
blood or breath test can result in you being barred from driving in Tennessee for a period of time.
Tennessee is not a part of the “Driver License Compact,” an
agreement between many states to report out of state DUIs to your home
state’s government. The state cannot
revoke your driver’s license if it was issued by another state, but home state’s issuing department
may still learn of your DUI, which can result in a loss of your driver’s license.
You are subject to
Tennessee DUI laws and penalties.
- You are required to attend all court hearings, even if you are not a resident
of Tennessee. If you fail to appear, a warrant may be issued for your
arrest. This may result in your home state learning of your DUI and subsequently
revoking your driver’s license. You may also be extradited to Tennessee
to face court proceedings.
Penalties of a DUI in Tennessee
Like many states, Tennessee considers DUI offenses to be particularly serious,
and subjects convicted offenders to severe penalties. Depending on prior
convictions, you may face more serious penalties. The penalty for a first-time
DUI conviction is:
- Between 48 hours and 11 months and 29 days of jail time.
- Fines between $350 and $1,500.
- Mandatory participation in a drug and alcohol safety class.
- Community service.
- Losing the right to drive in Tennessee for 1 to 2 years.
Don’t Face Your Out of State DUI Alone - (888) 988-5578
Joshua T. Crain, Attorneys at Law is prepared to help you face your DUI charges, whether you’re a
resident of Tennessee or not. An out of state DUI can be especially challenging,
but our team will be your “on the ground” support, working
on your case within the state and keeping you updated regarding your case’s
progress. Our Murfreesboro
DUI defense lawyers are prepared to ensure that you receive a just and fair
treatment and that your rights are respected.
Learn how our legal team can help you with a
Contact our offices by calling (888) 988-5578.