Penalties for DUI in TN
Facing Charges? Hire a Murfreesboro DUI Attorney
A conviction for
driving under the influence (DUI) in Tennessee can carry a laundry list of strict consequences. Depending
on whether you have prior offenses on your record, penalties will vary
in severity. Regardless of whether or not this is your first offense or
fourth time being charged, a DUI is always a serious charge that requires
the skillful defense of a knowledgeable lawyer to protect your freedom.
If you have been accused of DUI in Tennessee, Crain & Flatt Attorneys
at Law is prepared to stand up and fight in your defense against the opposition’s
claims. Having garnered a 10.0 Superb Avvo Rating for his service as a
Murfreesboro DUI lawyer, he is well equipped to handle your DUI charges
and greatly improve your chances of securing a desirable outcome for your
Take the first step towards retaining a top-notch defense by
contacting his office online today!
All DUI convictions will result in the
suspension of your license. At a minimum, your license can be suspended for one year.
If you have several priors or if the circumstances surrounding your arrest
were particularly egregious, a lifetime suspension can potentially be
handed down. Not only can this put a great strain on your mobility, your
ability to find employment may also be hindered as a result.
Ignition Interlock Devices
For any DUI charge, you will be required to install and use an Ignition
Interlock Device (IID). An IID is essentially a breathalyzer that is fastened
to the ignition of your vehicle, prohibiting you from driving if it detects
illegal levels of alcohol on your breath. Unless you are able to provide
a valid breath sample, you will be unable to start your car. To combat
the possibility of a sober person providing a fraudulent test for an intoxicated
driver, random tests are usually required while driving. If a valid sample
cannot be provided, the device can set off an alarm and notify authorities.
Possible Jail Time
A conviction for DUI carries the possibility of serving jail time, with
varying amounts depending on the number of prior offenses.
Possible jail sentences are as follows:
- A minimum of 48 hours and up to 11 months for a first offense
- A minimum of 45 days and up to one year for a second offense
- A minimum of 120 days and up to one year for a third offense
- A minimum of 150 days and up to six years for a fourth offense
A myriad of heavy fines can result from a DUI conviction. Similarly to
possible jail time, fines will vary depending on the number of offenses
on a person’s record. These monetary consequences can potentially
be devastating, leaving you in a deep financial hole.
The following ranges of fines can be imposed:
- For a first offense, up to $1,500 in fines
- For a second offense, up to $3,500 in fines
- For a third offense, up to $10,000 in fines
- For a fourth offense, up to $15,000 in fines
Let Joshua T. Crain, Attorneys at Law Defend Your Freedom!
If you have been charged with DUI, it is imperative that you retain an
aggressive defense as soon as possible to protect yourself against these
harsh consequences. With the counsel of a former prosecutor, our legal
team knows how the opposition thinks and can use this to your advantage,
crafting a personalized defense that can tear apart the prosecution’s
claims. While affordable, a public defender will likely not have the same
tenacity nor the skill to handle your case. Make sure your future is protected
by contacting our Murfreesboro
criminal defense attorneys today!
Call (888) 988-5578 today to take the first step towards results-driven