There are a wide variety of crimes that may be classified as a sex crime
in the state of Tennessee. These crimes often require anyone convicted
of them to be registered as a sex offender for a set amount of time.
Sex crimes are taken especially seriously by law enforcement, and prosecutors will
frequently try to secure a severe penalty for these crimes, including
lengthy periods of mandatory
sex offender registration.
What Is a Sex Crime in Tennessee?
Sex offender registration is only mandated for those who have been convicted
of a sex crime. There are a number of crimes which are considered sex
crimes, which generally involve non-consensual sexual activity or sexual
activity with a minor. Minors are not legally able to consent to sexual
conduct, so all sexual conduct with a person under the age of 18 is considered illegal.
More serious sex crimes target children, including
child pornography, or involve threats of physical harm, the use or threat of harm, or serious
injury. These crimes often merit a more serious felony charge, which can
result in up to 60 years in prison, $50,000 in fines, and decades of sex
offender registration for the most serious charges.
Sex offender registration can have a serious and continuing impact on your
life. You will be limited in your opportunities for education, housing,
and employment, due to your status as a sex offender. You may have a difficult
time remaining connected to your community, and can suffer damage to your
reputation and relationships with your family and loved ones. You will
also need to regularly report in with law enforcement officials for the
length of your registration.
Examples of Sex Crimes
There are many sex crimes that are prohibited by Tennessee law, including:
Rape: Sexual penetration of a victim using force or coercion, without the victim’s
consent, when the defendant knows the victim is physically or mentally
incapacitated, or is accomplished through fraud.
Aggravated Rape: Rape accomplished through excessive force or coercion, with the use of
a weapon, causing physical injury, or while aided by another person.
Statutory Rape: The victim is 13 or 14 years old and the defendant is 4 to 10 years older,
or the victim is 15 to 17, and the defendant is 5 to 10 years older.
Aggravated Statutory Rape: The victim is 13 to 17 years old, and the defendant is more than 10 years older.
Statutory Rape by an Authority Figure: The victim is 13 to 17 years old, while the defendant is at least 4 years
older and in a position of trust, supervision, or discipline by legal,
professional, or occupational status, or has custodial authority over
Rape of a Child: Sexual penetration of a child who is between 4 and 12 years old.
Aggravated Rape of a Child: Sexual penetration of a victim who is 3 years old or younger.
Sexual Battery: Sexual contact with any party’s genitals or intimate parts, with
a victim through coercion or force, without the consent of the victim,
by fraud, or while the defendant knew the victim was incapacitated physically
Aggravated Sexual Battery: Sexual contact with force or coercion, a weapon, causing physical injury,
or with the help of one or more people, or the victim is under 13 years old.
Sexual Battery by an Authority Figure: Sexual contact between a victim who was between 13 and 17 years old, or
was mentally or physically incapacitated, and a defendant who was in a
position of trust, supervision, or discipline, and used their position
to have sexual contact with the victim.
Get Help from Our Murfreesboro Sex Crimes Attorney - (888) 988-5578
Facing sex crime charges alone can be a challenge, and it may not result
in a successful defense. Our Murfreesboro
sex crimes lawyer will use his insider knowledge of the prosecution to build an effective
defense for your case.
Joshua T. Crain, Attorneys at Law is dedicated to helping our clients protect their rights and futures from
the damage a sex crime conviction can cause.
free case evaluation today learn how we can help.
Contact our offices by calling