First Offense DUI

Know the consequences of a first offense DUI

 

Have you been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Tennessee? Are you thinking to yourself, “I have a clean driving record so I should be fine?” You should think again. Tennessee has some of the strictest DUI punishments in the country, even for first-time offenders.

 

Act quickly and contact our team here at The Law Offices of Joshua T. Crain. With our Murfreesboro criminal defense lawyers at your side, you can keep your chin up and gain a fighting chance to retain your driving privileges.

 

Why do so many people trust our law firm? Our accolades speak for themselves:

  • Award-winning former prosecutor
  • 10.0 “Superb” Avvo rating
  • Dozens of 5-star client testimonials
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers by NTLA selection (2014 – 2015)

 

FIRST-TIME DUI PENALTIES IN TENNESSEE

In response to a growing fear of car accidents caused by intoxicated driving, Tennessee has implemented strict legal penalties to use against anyone convicted of a DUI.

 

Penalties you could face for a first-time offense include:

Tennessee also frequently requires first-time DUI offenders to drive around with an ignition interlock device (IID) for 6 months to 1 year. You will likely need to pay around $100 a month in taxes for an IID as well as more than $200 for its initial installation and eventual removal. You should also be aware that refusing to take a chemical test for the first time will trigger an automatic license suspension of 1 year.

 

FIGHT YOUR DUI CHARGE

The last thing you should do after being arrested for a DUI is to sit down and allow the criminal justice system to have free reign over your punishment. If unchecked or unchallenged, you could be excessively penalized due to exaggerated or purely falsified claims from the prosecution. Get ready to fight back with the help of our Murfreesboro DUI attorney, who is not afraid to take the gloves off in your defense.